Dining With Dre: Umami Burger

I’ve heard many good things about Umami Burger and I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to try it out. We went to the location at The CAMP in Costa Mesa which in it of itself is a bit trendy. For a trendy burger joint, the food was actually good! My friends and I went with their thin fries and “truffle’d ’em” for our appetizer, the Cali Burger, the Greenbird, the Truffle Burger and a burger that was a secret turkey burger that’s not on the menu with a few beers to top it all off. The food was pretty tasty and the company even better!

IMG_3177
The Cali Burger, the Greenbird, the Truffle Burger and the “secret spicy turkey burger.”

I had the Cali Burger and it was really tasty! Savory, but not too much and the burger patty was a nice medium rare that was juicy and soft. It had caramelized onions which is always my favorite thing for a bigger, next to a fried egg. Next time I’ll have to try a burger with a fried egg on it.

IMG_3158
Thin fries “truffle’d.”

The burger was really good, but I think the fries trumped it all! Which is crazy to me because when are fries better than the burger? In this case, these truffle fries were some of the best I’ve had, and I don’t even like mushrooms! I guess truffle oil doesn’t really count to me. 😉

IMG_3181

“I like to come here when I want a specialty burger. Not something plain and basic,” Drew Lopez said. “It’s a good place to go for an easy and casual, but fun dinner with friends.”

I agree! And the food and beer are actually good? Even better.

Leave a comment